Why I need feminism

Growing up, I heard a lot about being vigilant and staying aware of my surroundings, but not enough about consent. My dad is the first feminist role model I ever had, but from a young age he’s instilled in me that I must always watch my drink. Watch my drink, because some neanderthal might spike it. And that’s a terrifying reality for women everywhere: you’re not just responsible for your own actions, but protecting yourself from the actions of others.
That is why I need feminism. I don’t need a rape clock, or a rape whistle or nail polish then can tell if my drink has drugs. I need feminism.=

Leave a Reply

